On this page
Short answer
Four players online, two players in split-screen on Xbox
The whole campaign supports four-player online co-op, and all four members of Bravo Squad are playable from the start. On console it also supports two-player split-screen.
Split-screen is an Xbox feature. The Xbox Store lists local co-op for two players and shared/split screen; the Steam page lists online co-op only.
- Online campaign co-op
- Up to 4 players
- Split-screen
- 2 players, Xbox
- Horde Siege squad
- 4 players

Co-op by mode
| Mode | Online | Local split-screen |
|---|---|---|
| Campaign | Up to 4 | 2 players on Xbox |
| Horde Siege | Squads of 4; 12 per map | Not stated officially |
| Combat Training | Up to 4 | Not stated officially |
| Versus | 4v4 teams | Not stated officially |
The Xbox Store lists “Xbox local multiplayer (2-2)” without saying which multiplayer modes it covers.
Campaign co-op
Bravo Squad has four members: Marcus Fenix, Dominic Santiago, Mags Carter and Lucas Reyes. Xbox says the entire campaign can be played as any of them from the beginning. Playing alone, you control Marcus and the other three are AI.
There is an achievement, “You’re My Brother,” for completing every act in co-op on any difficulty. IGN’s reviewer recommended co-op as the way around AI squadmates that sometimes failed to revive him.
According to the launch notes, a player who joins a lobby that is partway through a save receives the host’s prior Secondary Objective and Hard Case progress in their War Journal, along with the related Forge rewards. The Coalition lists that as a known issue, so do not rely on it staying that way.
Split-screen on Xbox
Two players can share one console. Pure Xbox’s review says split-screen co-op “works very well” but is limited to two players and 30 FPS on Xbox Series X. Official posts confirm the two-player limit and do not state a frame rate.
There is no official statement about combining split-screen with online players in one squad, so we are not claiming it either way.
Starting a co-op campaign
- Make sure every online player on console has Game Pass Essential or higher.
- Open the social pane on the main menu to invite friends.
- For a friend on another platform, link accounts first; Steam players need a linked Xbox account to send cross-platform invites.
- Pick characters. Any of the four squad members is available.
- For split-screen, connect a second controller to the same Xbox. Official posts confirm the feature but do not document the menu steps.
Co-op in multiplayer
Horde Siege is co-operative by design: you queue as a squad of up to four, and two more squads share the map. You can revive players from other squads and share rewards from Invasion Events.
Combat Training also supports four-player co-op. It is a sandbox on a multiplayer map where a squad can test weapons and control schemes against small Locust encounters with no time limit.
On PC and Steam Deck
The Steam page’s feature list includes online co-op and cross-platform multiplayer, and its description mentions two-to-four-player online co-op. It does not list shared or split-screen play. If couch co-op is the reason you are buying, the Xbox Series X|S version is the one that is confirmed to have it.
Quick questions
Is Gears of War: E-Day split-screen?
Yes on Xbox, for two players in the campaign. Split-screen is not listed for the Steam version.
Can you play the whole campaign in co-op?
Yes. The campaign supports up to four players online from start to finish.
Is there three-player or four-player split-screen?
No. Split-screen is limited to two players on a single Xbox.
Sources
Where these answers come from
- Official · Official announcementXbox Wire: How Gears of War: E-Day Renews a Legendary FranchiseLaunch date, platform list, Bravo Squad, the Kalona setting, voice actors, new movement and weapons, and the first Horde Siege details.Published 2026-06-07 · Checked 2026-10-04
- Official · Store pageXbox Store: Gears of War: E-DayXbox prices, playable devices, co-op and multiplayer player counts, split-screen, cross-platform play and Play Anywhere support.Checked 2026-10-04
- Official · Store pageSteam: Gears of War: E-DaySteam price, release date, minimum and recommended PC requirements, feature tags, language support and PC feature list.Checked 2026-10-04
- Press or guide · ReviewPure Xbox: Gears Of War: E-Day (Campaign) ReviewCampaign review citing five acts, sixteen chapters, roughly 16 hours on Hardcore and split-screen running at 30 FPS.Published 2026-10-01 · Checked 2026-10-04
- Press or guide · ReviewIGN: Gears of War: E-Day ReviewCampaign review with a 15 to 18 hour first playthrough, the five-act structure, Hard Cases and squad AI observations.Published 2026-10-01 · Checked 2026-10-04
- Official · Official siteGearsofWar.com: Gears of War: E-Day Multiplayer Deep DiveHorde Siege rules, classes, difficulties and objectives, Versus modes and maps, ranked play, progression, Coins and Iron.Published 2026-07-30 · Checked 2026-10-04
- Official · Official announcementXbox Wire: The Full Gears of War: E-Day Achievements ListAll 54 achievements with descriptions and point values, including the campaign act, collectible and Horde Siege achievements.Published 2026-09-09 · Checked 2026-10-04
- Official · Official siteGearsofWar.com: Emergence Begins – TomorrowSeason 1 dates, ranked start date, changes since the beta, features missing at launch and the launch known issues list.Published 2026-09-30 · Checked 2026-10-04